Milwaukee Art Museum Impressive Impressionism

Milwaukee is a nice town. There is some stuff to do. Not a ton of stuff, but some stuff. One of the nice things is our art museum, the Milwaukee Art Museum. There are some nice exhibits. The first Thursday of the month is free day, so it is the day that I go. (Though I am definitely going to get a membership for the family this holiday).

Today I saw the Impressionism exhibit. I wasn’t looking forward to it too much, I appreciate Impressionism, but it has never been my favorite. But I found myself in tears, or near tears today. The power of the expertise overwhelmed me. Incredible mastery. I hesitate to write about the art, I am not an art historian. The exhibit didn’t have too many big hitters, you can go to Chicago to see that. There were a lot of smaller pieces and some artists I hadn’t known about. There was Van Gogh, and the Impressionism God, Renoir. A lot of Mary Cassat, which was nice. And here was a piece by Toulouse Latrec:

It is done on cardboard.

I also took serious note of the framing. The frames were gorgeous, elaborate, ornate for the most part. But I focused on the matting. It was interesting and gave me many idea’s. Linen covered mats. Painted on mats, and drawn outlines on the mats. I hope to spice things up at Gotcha Cha Cha.

About Gotcha Cha Cha

Hello, I am making this blog to complement my store on Etsy. I sell "found" art and lovely illustrations from unusable vintage books. I also love my 2 cats (Lupe and Cha Cha, hence the inspiration for the store/blog name) and one dog (Daisy a beagle), not to mention my 2 school age daughters, and my husband who can draw anything and does that for a living.
This entry was posted in history, inspiration, wow and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

