Fairy Bread

New picture in shop, finally. Gotcha Cha Cha. I have been having “creative block”. Framing hasn’t been going well, other idea’s aren’t panning out. Here is a picture and a poem from the book “A Garden of Verses” by Robert Louis Stevenson, a copy from the 1942. This is a Rand McNally book, and it was illustrated by Tony Brice who was a marvelous children’s illustrator. He did many books of the 1940’s era, with bright, chubby, anthromorphic creatures.

The poem is titled “Fairy Bread”. For a long time, anything with “fairy” in it was a hit in our family. I used a yellow mat board, but am rethinking it. Maybe a pink or light green would be a better choice of palette. These are the decisions that get me stuck! I used yellow because it was in the picture, but also because I had yellow board around, and no pink or green. Maybe it is time to go mat board shopping, or maybe someone will like the cheerfulness of the yellow, and absolutely not want pink??!

Now, the frame is plastic. I had a hard time deciding if this was usable. I loved the relief of the children and dog along the sides, but it is plastic! I finally decided that even though it was plastic, the design on the sides made up for it. It also has a screw in back, which is not “real” framing. The glass is glass, not acrylic.

This is from the 1942 printing. It has a slight stain on the lower right hand side which I am ok with, because it gives it AGE. I am all about the old pictures.

About Gotcha Cha Cha

Hello, I am making this blog to complement my store on Etsy. I sell "found" art and lovely illustrations from unusable vintage books. I also love my 2 cats (Lupe and Cha Cha, hence the inspiration for the store/blog name) and one dog (Daisy a beagle), not to mention my 2 school age daughters, and my husband who can draw anything and does that for a living.
This entry was posted in decorating and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

